by Tuxedo


$8.52 $11.99 Save 29% Current price is $8.52, Original price is $11.99. You Save 29%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, December 17


Before he moved west and became a retro-soul dreamboat, lovers of roller skate disco and electro-funk in his hometown of Ann Arbor, Michigan knew Mayer Hawthorne as DJ Haircut, and his mixtape Shoot the Duck, Vol. 1 was a prized possession. The disco, post-disco, and boogie tracks on that mix provide the inspiration for Tuxedo, a band formed by Hawthorne and Jake One, a fellow lover of those sweet sounds. The two had exchanged similarly smooth and funky disco mixtapes in 2006, then years later decided to make their own version. Unsurprisingly to anyone who's heard Hawthorne's note-perfect take on '60s soul, the duo proves to be masterful at re-creating the feel of the moment in the early '80s when disco began to die out and was replaced by the funkier sounds of boogie and electric funk. The duo conjures up visceral memories of the finest artists of the era, from Atlantic Starr to Zapp, treating the source material with care and making sure to never make jokes or come off even a little bit ironic. From the drum machines to the synth settings, everything is just right. The songs, too, are like lost nuggets of the era; "Lost Lover" is pure Gap Band swagger, "The Right Time" sounds like Billy Ocean getting AM radio funky, and "Two Wrongs" is a lovely quiet storm ballad with a perfect guitar solo. A few could have even been hits back then, and in 2015's post-"Get Lucky" landscape, too. The finger-popping "Do It" and "The Right Time" fit that bill. From beginning to end, the album is a happily reverent trip back to a time that's too often ignored by both disco and funk fans.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/03/2015
Label: Stones Throw
UPC: 0659457236021
catalogNumber: 2360
Rank: 22130

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tuxedo   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Bass,Drums
Quincy McCrary   Piano,Keyboards,Electric Piano
Jimi James   Background Vocals
Jake One   Synthesizer,Drums
Amos Miller   Synthesizer
David Vaughn   Synthesizer
Dâm-Funk   Synthesizer,Soloist
Mayer Hawthorne   Bass,Guitar
Benji Demps   Drums
Nick Brongers   Strings
Swish   Synthesizer
Gavin Turek   Background Vocals
Will Sessions   Horn

Technical Credits

Greg Wells   Producer
Jake One   Programming
David Vaughn   Composer
Benji Demps   Composer
Nick Brongers   Composer
Jean André   Cover Design
Tuxedo   Programming,Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews