Ultimate Collection: Gregory Isaacs

Ultimate Collection: Gregory Isaacs

by Gregory IsaacsGregory Isaacs


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.


You know the old saying about trying to be all things to all people? Well, with an artist as prolific as Gregory Isaacs, even a box set can never be an ultimate package but, that said, this 20-track collection is one of the better introductions to the artist. Bundling up songs recorded between the mid-'70s and the late '80s, the album leapfrogs about chronologically. Thankfully, the liner notes are extremely complete (even identifying the backing bands and listing their members!), while also including a history taken from an interview with Isaacs himself. The earliest songs included -- "Love Is Overdue" and "My Number One," both produced by Alvin Ranglin -- are among the singer's greatest, while the latest -- "Rough Neck" and "Rumours" -- are dancehall classics both overseen by Gussie Clarke. In between there are such seminal songs as the Niney Holness-produced "Slavemaster," "Oh What a Feeling" (cut for Taxi), "Mr. Cop" (co-produced by Lee Perry and Isaacs), a number of excellent self-productions, and such Flabba Holt-overseen classics as "Night Nurse." What's missing is too long to list, but Ultimate Collection does capture some of the highlights of several periods during the singer's lengthy career, and is an excellent starting place for new fans.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/26/2001
Label: Hip-O Records
UPC: 0731456043029
catalogNumber: 560430

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Gregory Isaacs   Primary Artist
Wally Badarou   Synthesizer
Heptones   Track Performer
Mighty Diamonds   Track Performer
Barry Reynolds   Guitar
Ansel Collins   Organ,Piano,Keyboards
Sly & Robbie   Track Performer
Taxi Gang   Track Performer
Roots Radics   Track Performer
Gladstone Anderson   Keyboards
Noel Sowell Bailey   Guitar
Leslie Butler   Keyboards
Chico Chin   Trumpet
Tony Chin   Guitar
Santa Davis   Drums
Sly Dunbar   Drums,Syndrum
Bobby Ellis   Trumpet
Dean Fraser   Saxophone
George Fullwood   Bass
Ossie Hibbert   Keyboards
Wycliffe "Steely" Johnson   Bass,Piano,Keyboards
Richard G. Johnson   Keyboards
Sky Juice   Percussion
Robert Lyn   Bass,Guitar,Piano,Drums,Keyboards,Synthesizer Horn
David Madden   Trumpet
Herman Marquis   Alto Saxophone
Tommy McCook   Tenor Saxophone
Dwight Pinkney   Guitar
Ronald "Nambo" Robinson   Trombone
Lincoln Style Scott   Drums
Robbie Shakespeare   Bass,Piano
Noel "Scully" Simms   Percussion
Earl "Chinna" Smith   Guitar
Keith Sterling   Piano,Keyboards
Ruddy Thomas   Percussion
Uziah "Sticky" Thompson   Percussion
Franklyn Waul   Piano,Keyboards
Errol "Flabba" Holt   Bass
Danny Brownie   Bass
Soul Syndicate   Track Performer
Dalton Brownie   Guitar
Errol "Tarzan" Nelson   Keyboards
Bertram "Ranchie" McLean   Bass,Guitar
Phil Ramacon   Synthesizer

Technical Credits

Augustus "Gussie" Clarke   Producer
David Katz   Annotation
Sly Dunbar   Producer
Gregory Isaacs   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Quinous Johnson   Tape Research
Alvin Ranglin   Producer
Robbie Shakespeare   Producer
Sylvester Weise   Composer
Ilene Weingard   Art Direction
Dana Smart   Annotation
Pat Lawrence   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews