Ultimate Isaac Hayes: Can You Dig It?

Ultimate Isaac Hayes: Can You Dig It?

by Isaac HayesIsaac Hayes

CD(Digi-Pak / Bonus DVD)

$19.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The appeal of Isaac Hayes spans the generations: To some, he's the voice behind Jerome "Chef" McElroy on the raucous animated series South Park, while to others, he's a songwriter who helped pen many '60s Memphis soul classics and later developed the alter ego "Black Moses of Soul," whose musical flights of fancy influenced both the blaxploitation film explosion and the funk and hip-hop that would follow. Comprising two CDs and a DVD, Ultimate Isaac Hayes surveys his musical contributions from 1968-78 -- and then some. The set kicks off with his breakthrough signature song, "Theme from Shaft," and the remaining 31 cuts showcase the man's skills during his Stax/Volt tenure, as an artist who boasted an ear for tasteful orchestral arrangements, a distinct, romantic growl, and a masterful ability to interpret the songs of others. Who else could take the Bacharach/David classic "Walk On By" and stretch it out to more than ten minutes while infusing it with psychedelic fuzz guitar, darting strings, and organ vamps -- and still convey a spot-on mix of remorse and heartbreak? And if some Hayes originals, such as the instrumental "Disco Connection," sound somewhat dated, there's no denying that he knows how to sustain a serious funk groove. The DVD completes the portrait by offering a sense of his imposing visual presence. Three of the four clips on the bonus DVD are taken from Hayes's appearance at the seminal 1972 Watts Stax concert, and the fourth is an animated video of the novelty cut "Chocolate Salty Balls," which he wrote for South Park. Can You Dig It? underscores the timeless charm of Isaac Hayes.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/01/2005
Label: Stax
UPC: 0025218884327
catalogNumber: 88043
Rank: 20805

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Isaac Hayes   Primary Artist,Organ,Piano,Electric Piano,Alto Saxophone,Vocals,Xylophone,Vibes
Bill Easley   Horn
Emerson Able   Horn
Harold Beane   Guitar
Ben Cauley   Horn
Donald "Duck" Dunn   Bass
Jack Hale   Horn
Willie Hall   Drums,Tambourine
Wayne Jackson   Horn
Gary Jones   Bongos,Conga
Sidney Kirk   Piano,Keyboards
Andrew Love   Horn
Floyd Newman   Horn
David Porter   Vocals
Anthony Shinault   Guitar
Lester Snell   Keyboards,Electric Piano
Erroll Thomas   Bass
Marvell Thomas   Keyboards
Michael Toles   Guitar
Tommy Lee Williams   Horn
Al Jackson   Drums
James Alexander   Bass
Kevin Bennett   Horn
Mickey Gregory   Horn
Billy Cauley   Horn
Ronnie Hudson   Bass
William Murphy   Bass

Technical Credits

Kris Kristofferson   Composer
Clifton Davis   Composer
Dionne Warwick   Producer
Curtis Mayfield   Composer
Bell   Producer
Donald "Duck" Dunn   Producer
Henry Glover   Composer
Isaac Hayes   Composer,Producer
Pat Lewis   Arranger
David Porter   Producer
Marvell Thomas   Producer
Al Jackson   Producer
Rob Bowman   Liner Notes,Reissue Producer
Jamie Putnam   Art Direction
Traditional   Composer
Allen Jones   Producer

Customer Reviews