by PrincePrince


$20.61 $21.99 Save 6% Current price is $20.61, Original price is $21.99. You Save 6%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The third Prince compilation includes a second disc devoted to 12" mixes and extended dance mixes issued on CD maxi-singles. There is certainly a market for these mixes -- they have not been compiled on CD, so hardcore fans have been awaiting their reissue, not just for the sake of completism, but because the mixes were often very good. Included here are "Let's Go Crazy," "Little Red Corvette," "Pop Life," "Raspberry Beret," "Kiss," "U Got the Look," "Thieves in the Temple," and "Cream" all in different mixes. As for the first disc, most of the 17 songs here are single edits, but there are a few exceptions to the rule, as "Controversy," "Purple Rain," "Alphabet St," "7," and "Gett Off" are all presented in their original full-length album incarnations -- and even if "Controversy" and "Purple Rain" benefit from the unedited treatment (which is not necessarily the case with "Alphabet St.," which is one time Prince's song got better on a single edit), it's hard to see why those were included uncut when "1999" and "When Doves Cry" fade out rather abruptly. The remastered sound is very good, however, better than the original CDs in nearly every case.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/22/2006
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227338121
catalogNumber: 73381
Rank: 51593


Disc 1

  1. I Wanna Be Your Lover
  2. Uptown
  3. Controversy
  4. 1999
  5. Delirious
  6. When Doves Cry
  7. I Would Die 4 U
  8. Purple Rain
  9. Sign 'O' the Times
  10. I Could Never Take the Place of Your Man
  11. Alphabet St.
  12. Diamonds and Pearls
  13. Gett Off
  14. Money Don't Matter 2 Night
  15. 7
  16. Nothing Compares 2 U
  17. My Name Is Prince

Disc 2

  1. Let's Go Crazy
  2. Little Red Corvette
  3. Let's Work
  4. Pop Life
  5. She's Always in My Hair
  6. Raspberry Beret
  7. Kiss
  8. U Got the Look
  9. Hot Thing
  10. Thieves in the Temple
  11. Cream

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Prince   Primary Artist,Vocals,Various
Sheena Easton   Vocals
Eric Leeds   Flute,Saxophone,Vocals,Brass
Fink   Keyboards
Sid Page   Violin
Atlanta Bliss   Trumpet,Vocals,Brass
Michael B.   Drums
Tommy Barbarella   Sampling
Timothy Barr   Standup Bass
Bonnie Boyer   Hammond Organ,Vocals
Denyse Buffum   Viola
David Daoud Coleman   Cello
Lisa Coleman   Keyboards,Vocals
Damon Dickson   Percussion,Background Vocals
Sheila E.   Percussion,Drums,Vocals
Rosie Gaines   Organ,Vocals,Background Vocals,Sampling
Tony M.   Background Vocals,Rap
Wendy Melvoin   Guitar,Vocals
Levi Seacer   Bass,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Sonny T.   Bass,Background Vocals
Bobby Z   Percussion
Novi Novog   Violin,Viola
Suzie Katayama   Cello
Laury Woods   Viola
Annette Atkinson   Standup Bass

Technical Credits

Lowell Fulson   Composer
Jimmy McCracklin   Composer
Prince   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer,String Arrangements,Remixing,Audio Production
Joe Blaney   Engineer
Gary Brandt   Engineer
David Z.   Arranger
Sheila E.   Remixing
Dave Friedlander   Engineer
Tom Garneau   Engineer
Mick Guzauski   Engineer,Remixing
Michael Hutchinson   Engineer,Remixing
Michael Koppelman   Engineer
David Leonard   Engineer
Peggy McCreary   Engineer
Ross Pallone   Engineer
Tim Penn   Engineer
Shep Pettibone   Producer,Remixing
Brian Poer   Engineer
David Rivkin   Engineer
Susan Rogers   Engineer
David Tickle   Engineer
New Power Generation   Composer
Ray Hahnfeldt   Engineer
Coke Johnson   Engineer
Matt Larson   Engineer
Peggy Mac   Engineer
Bob Mockler   Engineer,Remixing
Don Batts   Engineer
Eddie Miller   Engineer
Mathieu Bitton   Art Direction
Larry E. Williams   Tray Photo
Steve Noonan   Engineer
Anthony Mosley   Composer

Customer Reviews