Undisputed [Bonus Track]

Undisputed [Bonus Track]



$14.59 $14.99 Save 3% Current price is $14.59, Original price is $14.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Six years off for the mega-platinum DMX meant that his 2012 release, Undisputed, was dubbed "comeback album" the day it was announced, but don't unleash the dogs on account of that. Granted, superstar producer Swizz Beats is here with the radio-worthy bangers -- the like-minded two-fer "What They Don't Know" and "Ya'll Don't Really Know" -- plus "I Don't Dance" hits hard with its J.R. Rotem-helmed techno beat and a very 2012 appearance from upstart-of-the-year MGK, and while the meter stops shy of the "Ruff Ryders Anthem" mark, it comes close during these boss cuts. "Frankenstein" is an interesting step into Insane Clown Posse territory with shuffling drums, Mike E. Clark-ish studio tricks, and a horror-show allegiance to its title, and as "Cold World" embraces the pain with slow soul and mournful moments of clarity, the one they call Dog Man X has turned in one of his most poignant ballads to date. Don't call it a comeback when there's so much evolution to absorb, and if Undisputed could shake its "official album" status it would be much better off, as the overstuffing (16 tracks with filler instead of a worthy ten or 11 that are here), the iffy construction (from the lightweight "Sucka for Love" to the Neptunes-like "I'm Back," there's a big lump of chilled tracks stuck together), and the unevenness of the production (some cuts are by Swizzy or Rotem; some are by never-heard-of-the-dude) beg to be considered by "street release" terms, where experimentation and left turns are more accepted and expected. Don't hold it up next to his early streamlined classics, but on a "street release" level, Undisputed is a great "welcome back," where veteran artist kicks it like the old days, does well with some new flavors, and drops some non-embarrassing leftovers into the mix, just because they fit. [The CD was also released with a bonus track, "Get Your Money Up."]

Product Details

Release Date: 09/11/2012
Label: Seven Arts Music
UPC: 0818757010001
catalogNumber: 1
Rank: 73708

Album Credits

Performance Credits

DMX   Primary Artist
Ashley Williams   Vocals
Charles Dorman   Strings,Keyboards

Technical Credits

Barry White   Composer
Maurice White   Composer
Leonard Caston   Composer
Jack Perry   Composer
Pam Sawyer   Composer
Jolyon Skinner   Composer
Elite   Producer
David Michery   Executive Producer
Joe Warlick   Engineer
Jason Levine   Engineer
Earl Simmons   Composer
Swizz Beatz   Producer
Grease   Producer
Ronnie Jones   Marketing,Promoter
Peter Karroll   Executive Producer
Jason Fowler   Management
J.R. Rotem   Producer
Greg Miller   Marketing,Promoter
Snaggs   Producer
Jason Whittington   Marketing,Promoter
Kannon "Caviar" Cross   Composer,Producer
Bird   Producer
Frank E. Wilson   Composer
X   Producer
Grease   Producer
Robert Cardenas   Graphic Direction,Layout
Pat Gallo   Producer
Jonathan Rivera   Composer
Barry Eastmond   Composer
Colson Baker   Composer
Darius Deezle Harrison   Producer
Phil Schlemmer   Sound Effects,Engineer,Vocal Engineer
Gregory Ford   Composer
Gertis Lamont McDowell   Composer
Charles Dorman   Instrumentation
Cale Moss   Concept
Patrick Gallo   Composer
Morris J. Tancredi   Composer
Marz Castro   Images
Greg "G Sparkz" Ford   Producer
John Gray   Engineer
Tronzilla   Producer
Snaz   Producer

Customer Reviews