by McCoy Tyner Big BandMcCoy Tyner Big Band




The debut recording from McCoy Tyner's big band features the pianist's all-star 15-piece unit romping through five of his originals (including "Blues for Basie") plus Steve Turre's "Lotus Flower." With such fine soloists as tenors Junior Cook and Ricky Ford, trumpeter Kamau Adilifu, trombonist Turre, and the leader, the ensemble (which includes John Clark's French horn and the tuba of Howard Johnson) had quickly gained its own sound and the results are quite memorable and frequently exciting. Recommended.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/20/1989
Label: Milestone
UPC: 0025218916721
catalogNumber: 9167

Album Credits

Performance Credits

McCoy Tyner Big Band   Primary Artist,Track Performer
Junior Cook   Tenor Saxophone
Robin Eubanks   Trombone
Ricky Ford   Tenor Saxophone
Louis Hayes   Drums
Howard Johnson   Tuba
Avery Sharpe   Bass
John Clark   French Horn
McCoy Tyner   Piano,Leader,Track Performer
Kamau Adilifu   Trumpet
Joe Ford   Flute,Soprano Saxophone
Earl Gardner   Trumpet
Doug Harris   Flute,Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Virgil Jones   Trumpet
Steve Thornton   Percussion
Steve Turre   Trombone

Technical Credits

McCoy Tyner   Composer,Producer
Jim Anderson   Engineer
David Luke   Remixing
Phil Carroll   Artwork
Kevin Whitehead   Liner Notes
Eric Miller   Producer

Customer Reviews