USA [40th Anniversary Edition]

USA [40th Anniversary Edition]

by King CrimsonKing Crimson

CD(Anniversary Edition / Bonus DVD)

$28.97 $29.99 Save 3% Current price is $28.97, Original price is $29.99. You Save 3%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


As Robert Fripp had done with King Crimson's first live LP, Earthbound (1972), USA (1974) is a single-disc concert package documenting the quartet during its most concurrent swing through North America. As with its predecessor, USA was also issued as a sonic cenotaph of the concurrently defunct Krim. So insistent that the band would not be resurrected, Fripp concluded the LP's liner notes at the time with another three-letter epitaph: "R.I.P." The 1973/1974 King Crimson included the collective efforts of Fripp (guitar/mellotron), David Cross (violin), John Wetton (bass/vocals), and Bill Bruford (drums/percussion). USA also includes notable violin overdubs by Eddie Jobson on the tracks "Larks' Tongues in Aspic, Pt. 2" and "21st Century Schizoid Man," as well as electric piano addendums to "Lament." The opening drone -- indexed as "Walk On....No Pussyfooting" for the 30th anniversary release in 2002 -- re-creates the typical performance prelude, which is lifted directly from the Fripp and Brian Eno sonic sculpture No Pussyfooting (1973). The brusque juxtaposition of the ethereal opening to the aggressive "Larks' Tongues in Aspic, Pt. 2" jolts the audience into the rips and snorts found during this tautly rendered instrumental. The readings of "Lament" and "Exiles" demonstrate this band's overwhelming sonic sensibilities. They are able to contrast and incorporate thick, viscous melodies and rhythms with alternately underlying sensitive, as well as ultimately beautiful, musical responses. A majority of the release is taken from a performance on June 28, 1974, at the Casino in Asbury Park, NJ, with the notable exception of "21st Century Schizoid Man," which was recorded two nights later at the Palace Theater in Providence, RI. The previously mentioned 30th anniversary edition marks the legitimate digital debut of USA. The extended CD format allows for the addition of "Fracture" and "Starless" from the Casino show. Additional live recordings of this band can be found on the four-disc The Great Deceiver collection and Night Watch, as well as Live in Central Park, NYC '74 and Live in Mainz 1974 from the King Crimson Collectors' Club. [A 40th Anniversary Edition released in 2013 added a DVD and new mixes of many of the tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 12/24/2013
Label: Discipline Us
UPC: 0633367401229
catalogNumber: 674012
Rank: 20919


Disc 1

  1. Walk On: No Pussyfooting
  2. Larks' Tongues in Aspic, Pt. 2
  3. Lament
  4. Exiles
  5. Improv: Asbury Park
  6. Easy Money
  7. Improv
  8. Fracture
  9. Starless
  10. 21st Century Schizoid Man

Disc 2

  1. Walk On: No Pussyfooting
  2. Larks' Tongues in Aspic, Pt. 2
  3. Lament
  4. Exiles
  5. Improv: Asbury Park
  6. Easy Money
  7. Improv
  8. Fracture
  9. Starless
  10. 21st Century Schizoid Man
  11. Lark's Tongues in Aspic, Pt. 2
  12. Lament
  13. Exiles
  14. Asbury Park
  15. Easy Money
  16. 21st Century Schizoid Man
  17. Walk On: No Pussyfooting
  18. Larks' Tongues in Aspic, Pt. 2
  19. Lament
  20. Exiles
  21. Improv: Asbury Park
  22. Easy Money
  23. Fracture
  24. Starless
  25. 21st Century Schizoid Man
  26. Walk On: No Pussyfooting
  27. Lark's Tongues in Aspic, Pt. 2
  28. Lament
  29. Exiles
  30. Improv: Asbury Park
  31. Easy Money
  32. 21st Century Schizoid Man
  33. Fracture
  34. Starless

Album Credits

Performance Credits

King Crimson   Primary Artist
Eddie Jobson   Piano,Violin
Bill Bruford   Percussion
John Wetton   Bass,Vocals
David Cross   Violin,Keyboards
Robert Fripp   Guitar,Mellotron

Technical Credits

Bill Bruford   Composer
John Wetton   Composer
Greg Lake   Composer
George Chkiantz   Engineer
David Cross   Composer
Brian Eno   Composer
Robert Fripp   Composer
Michael Giles   Composer
Peter Hodgson   Archival Materials
Richard Palmer-James   Composer
Ian McDonald   Composer
Peter Sinfield   Composer
Nicholas Deville   Cover Art
Mike Dowd   Archival Materials
Hugh O'Donnell   Artwork
Sid Smith   Interviewer,Sleeve Notes
John Kimber   Archival Materials
Gary Weisel   Archival Materials

Customer Reviews