Vanguard Sessions: Baez Sings Dylan

Vanguard Sessions: Baez Sings Dylan

by Joan BaezJoan Baez


$13.66 $13.99 Save 2% Current price is $13.66, Original price is $13.99. You Save 2%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Culling 15 tracks from her 1968 release of Any Day Now and adding five tracks taken from her releases of the early '60s, Vanguard Sessions: Baez Sings Dylan is a wonderful example of Joan Baez's ability to transcend the work of other songwriters. Though it could be said that the genius of Dylan's songcraft can occasionally be obscured by the understated starkness of his presentation, Baez's use of slightly countrified arrangements to compliment her powerful vocals succeeds in recasting these classics in a slightly prettier package. Baez takes few liberties, so most tracks don't count as surprises, though a bluesy a cappella rendition of "Tears of Rage" and a funky, soulful "Dear Landlord" nearly qualify as such. More than anything, Baez's renditions make the listener realize just how incredibly nuanced Dylan's delivery can be. Though standards like "You Ain't Goin' Nowhere," "It Ain't Me Babe," and "I Shall Be Released" are covered, just as many tracks are of a lesser-known variety, such as "Walkin' Down the Line," "Love Is Just a Four-Letter Word," and "Walls of Red Wing." Of course, bringing out the genius in Dylan's work isn't exactly akin to pulling teeth, but the timeless quality of Baez's thoughtful renditions more than does the work justice.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/31/1998
Label: Vanguard Imports
UPC: 0090204663224
catalogNumber: 0466322
Rank: 7751

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Joan Baez   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Johnny Gimble   Musician
Jerry Reed   Musician
Buddy Spicher   Musician
Steve Stills   Musician
Pete Drake   Musician
Grady Martin   Leader,Musician
Maurice de Abravanel   Conductor
Harold Bradley   Musician
Kenny Buttrey   Musician
Jerry Kennedy   Musician
Bruce Langhorne   Electric Guitar
Norbert Putnam   Musician
Ralph Rinzler   Mandolin
Hargus "Pig" Robbins   Musician
Richard Romoff   String Bass,Bass Strings
Russ Savakus   String Bass,Bass Strings
David Soyer   Cello
Pete Wade   Musician
Hal Rugg   Musician
Fred Carter   Musician
Bill Purcell   Musician
John Baez   Guitar,Vocals
Junior Huskey   Musician

Technical Credits

Joan Baez   Liner Notes,Original Liner Notes
Langston Hughes   Liner Notes,Original Liner Notes
Fred Carter   Contributor
Bill Pursell   Contributor
Selby Coffeen   Engineer
Diana Davies   Cover Photo
Roy M. "Junior" Husky   Contributor
Tommy Jackson   Contributor
Jack Lothrop   Original Album Producer
Maynard Solomon   Producer,Original Album Producer
Captain Jeff Zaraya   Engineer
John Byrne Cooke   Illustrations
David Briggs   Contributor

Customer Reviews