by The LemonheadsThe Lemonheads


$19.14 $19.99 Save 4% Current price is $19.14, Original price is $19.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Inspirations rarely come more inspired than Gibby Haynes, the leader of the Butthole Surfers. For years, Gibby slipped Evan Dando mixtapes, and the Lemonheads leader pays tribute with Varshons, a covers album largely consisting of songs from those cassettes and produced by Haynes. At first glance this pairing might seem odd, but Gibby and Evan are both old hardcore punks with a taste for the strange. Evan may have crossed over more than Gibby, who made a career out of odd, but he never quite abandoned weirdness, with even Come on Feel the Lemonheads collapsing in the murk of "The Jello Fund." All the same, Varshons is easily the strangest Lemonheads record in maybe two decades and it's not so coincidentally one of their best, perched between the ragged, formless mess of their earliest records and Dando's enduring love for sweetly weathered country-rock. Gram Parsons, Evan's longtime idol, surfaces on Varshons, as does Townes Van Zandt, but a truer indication of the sun-warped spirit of the album lies in how the Lemonheads revamp Wire's "Fragile" into country-rock or how scum-rocker G.G. Allin's "Layin' Up with Linda" is given a murder ballad revision that resonates. But Varshons isn't all country -- there's a thick layer of Texas psychedelic haze, a rather ingenious take on Christina Aguilera's "Beautiful," a duet with Liv Tyler on Leonard Cohen's "Hey That's No Way to Say Goodbye," and, popping out of nowhere, a stiff new wave workout called "Dirty Robot" featuring Kate Moss on lead vocals. This sense of adventure ties Varshons to those earliest Lemonheads records, but the group marries that spirit to Dando's exceptionally intuitive interpretive skills, turning the album into a bit of a rough, unpolished gem.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/23/2009
Label: Imports
UPC: 0654436013723
catalogNumber: 6013723
Rank: 107907

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lemonheads   Primary Artist
Chris Brokaw   Acoustic Guitar
Evan Dando   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Percussion,Drums,Vocals,Vocoder,Omnichord
Gibby Haynes   Vocals,Background Vocals
John Perry   Guitar,Electric Guitar,Tambourine,Background Vocals
Daniel Rey   Bass
Adam Taylor   Keyboards
Ian Kennedy   Violin
Anthony Saffery   Guitar,Keyboards,Sitar
Liv Tyler   Vocals
LonPaul Ellrich   Vibes
Trisha Scotti   Background Vocals
Devon Ashley   Percussion,Drums,Vocals
Blake Flemming   Drums
Grant Smith & the Power   Tabla,Bells
Elizabeth Moses   Background Vocals
Kate Moss   Vocals
Vess VonRuhtenberg   Bass
Oliver Saffery   Leslie Pedal

Technical Credits

Leonard Cohen   Composer
Colin Newman   Composer
Gram Parsons   Composer
Bruce Gilbert   Composer
Graham Lewis   Composer
Tom Newman   Composer
Evan Dando   Art Direction
Robert Gotobed   Composer
Gibby Haynes   Producer,Audio Production,Introduction
John Perry   Feedback
Linda Perry   Composer
Daniel Rey   Engineer,Vocal Engineer
Townes Van Zandt   Composer
Ian Willis   Composer
Adam Taylor   Programming,Engineer
Fuckemos   Composer
Kevin Oberlin   Management
Gerry Arling   Composer
Anthony Saffery   Programming,Engineer
LonPaul Ellrich   Engineer
Richard Cameron   Composer
Ian Tong   Cover Photo
Mark Dagley   Cover Painting
Alex Hartman   Engineer
Matt Boynton   Engineer
Vess VonRuhtenberg   Engineer
Mike Joyce   Art Direction

Customer Reviews