Venus Burning: Realms: The Collected Short Stores from Realms of Fantasy

Venus Burning: Realms: The Collected Short Stores from Realms of Fantasy

by Tanith Lee


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


“Tanith’s work is lush and rich with beauty, darkness, and sensuality. More than almost anyone else whom I have ever read, Tanith’s work sounds like it was meant to be read aloud, perhaps while huddled around a fire in the dark forest or in the quiet and still air within an ancient temple.”

Jeremy Brett, (Cushing Memorial Library & Archives, Texas A&M University)

Tanith Lee wrote fifteen stories for the acclaimed US genre magazine ‘Realms of Fantasy’, which ran from 1994 to 2009 and was founded and edited by her close friend, Shawna McCarthy. Venus Burning: Realms collects all these stories in one volume for the first time, some of which only ever appeared in the magazine and will therefore be new to some of Tanith’s fans.

The stories in this collection are among her best work, in which Tanith takes myth and fairy tale tropes and turns them on their heads. You might find fantasy swordsmen (Woman in Scarlet), vampires (Israbel), werewolves (Moonblind), dragons (The Children of his Old Age), ghostly dolls (Doll Skulls) and tales reminiscent of the Arabian Nights (I Bring You Forever), but these are nothing like stories of those genres you’ve read before. Lush and lyrical, deep and literary, Tanith Lee created fresh poignant tales from familiar archetypes. This book also includes three previously uncollected stories from her Flat Earth mythos.

“We published fifteen of Tanith Lee’s brilliant works. All of those wonderful, mystical, gorgeous, glorious stories are in this volume, and I’m so glad that Immanion Press is sharing them with new (and old) readers.”

Shawna McCarthy - founder and editor of ‘Realms of Fantasy’

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781907737886
Publisher: Immanion Press
Publication date: 04/26/2018
Pages: 298
Sales rank: 833,292
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.67(d)

About the Author

Tanith Lee (1947¿2015) was a British writer of science fiction, horror, and fantasy. She was the author of more than 90 novels (including Wolf Tower and The Flat Earth series), 300 short stories (such as "When the Clock Strikes," from the collection Red as Blood), a children's picture book (Animal Castle), and many poems. She also wrote two episodes of the BBC science fiction series Blake's 7. Lee was married to artist and writer John Kaiine.

Table of Contents

Preface by Shawna McCarthy

Beauty, Darkness and Sensuality: The Magic of Tanith Lee’s Writing: An introduction by Jeremy Brett

The Story Told by Smoke (From the Journals of St. Strange)

Doll Skulls (a Paradis novelette)

Death Loves Me

Old Flame (From the Journals of St. Strange)

The Lady-Of-Shalott House

I Bring You Forever

The Woman in Scarlet

The Children of His Old Age

The Man Who Stole the Moon (A Story of the Flat Earth)



Stalking the Leopard

En Forêt Noire

The Snake (A Story of the Flat Earth)

Our Lady of Scarlet (A Story of The Flat Earth)

Customer Reviews