Viva Cubop!, Vol. 2: Dance the Afro-Cuban Way

Viva Cubop!, Vol. 2: Dance the Afro-Cuban Way

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

$12.98 $12.99 Save 0% Current price is $12.98, Original price is $12.99. You Save 0%.


The Cubop subsidiary of the Ubiquity label has since the mid-'90s been documenting some of the top Afro-Cuban jazz musicians on the scene. This sampler has a dozen selections taken from a variety of all-stars recorded primarily in the late '90s. Featured on one song apiece are percussionists Jack Constanza, Marlon Simon, Bobby Matos, Snowboy, Ray Armando, and Babatunde Lea; vibraphonist Dave Pike; trumpeter Arturo Sandoval; Afroshock and the Jazz on the Latin Side All Stars; plus two cuts from the London band Grupo X. This is a strong sampling from a significant label, with plenty of heated music included on the colorful release.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/05/2000
Label: Cubop Records
UPC: 0780661503316
catalogNumber: 15033

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Brian Lynch   Trumpet
Dave Pike   Marimbas
Hilton Ruiz   Piano
Arturo Sandoval   Trumpet,Timbales
McKibbon   Bass
Francisco Aguabella   Conga
Ray Armando   Conga
John Benítez   Bass
Alex Blake   Bass
Bob Campbell   Baritone Saxophone
Gilbert Castellanos   Trumpet
Jorge L. Chicoy   Guitar
Benn Clatworthy   Saxophone
Jack Costanzo   Bongos,Conga
John Crawford   fender rhodes
Freddie Crespo   Coro
Reinaldo Valera del Monte   Conga
Jon Eisen   Piano
Susie Hansen   Violin
Richard Howell   Tenor Saxophone,Vocals
Munyungo Jackson   Conga
Bob Johnston   Trombone
Danilo Lozano   Flute
Luis Malespin   Bass
Bobby Matos   Timbales,Chekere,Guiro
Eddie Resto   Ampeg Baby Bass
Danny Saenz   Bongos
Michito Sánchez   Guiro
Poncho Sanchez   Conga
Carl Saunders   Trumpet
Edward Simon   Piano
Snowboy   Track Performer
Enzo Todesco   Drums
Hilario Durán   Piano
Mike Turre   Flute
Arturo Velasco   Trombone
Peter Brainin   Tenor Saxophone
Theo Saunders   Piano
Carlos Peña   Vocals,Background Vocals,Guiro
Pete Eckford   Bongos,Conga
Joe Rotunde   Piano
Robert Quintero   Conga
Marlon Simon   Drums,Timbales
Antoine Caito   Conga
Victor Cegarra   Fiddle,Piano,Keyboards
Bernardo Choven Garcia   Drums
Robertito Melendez   Bongos,Conga,Bells
Asfru Sierra   Coro
Cougar Estrada   Drums
Babatunde Lea   Drums,Bells,Palittos
Johnny Enright   Trombone,Vocals
Jorge Reyes   Bass
Simon Edwards   Bass

Technical Credits

Dizzy Gillespie   Composer
Dave Pike   Vibe Master
Arturo Sandoval   Composer
Darrell Harris   Vibe Master
Maurizio Ravalico   Arranger
Joe Rotunde   Arranger

Customer Reviews