Wakeman and Florence Townships, Ohio (Images of America Series)

Wakeman and Florence Townships, Ohio (Images of America Series)

by David Graves, Amie Swope


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Wakeman and Florence Townships began with the American Revolution. The federal government set aside land in Ohio for people from Connecticut whose lands were destroyed by the war. These “fire sufferers” were granted land tracts in the Western Reserve area known as the Firelands. People industrious or brave enough to travel to the untamed wilderness of Ohio in the early 1800s must have been captivated by the fertile farmland, vegetation, and peaceful river that flowed through the area. The Village of Wakeman was founded in 1817 and still rests in a beautiful location along the Vermilion River. The unincorporated village of Birmingham, in Florence Township, is also located on the Vermilion River. Farming, community, and the enjoyment of the scenery are still important parts of life in Wakeman and Florence Townships.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780738593531
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing SC
Publication date: 02/27/2012
Series: Images of America Series
Pages: 128
Product dimensions: 6.60(w) x 9.10(h) x 0.40(d)

About the Author

David Graves, long considered the unofficial town historian of Wakeman, has been the recipient of generous gifts and loans of photographs chronicling the town’s history. He also owns the farm machinery business that his parents began in 1936. His daughter Amie (Graves) Swope is an English teacher at a local high school and shares her father’s appreciation for history.

Customer Reviews