Walking in Space

Walking in Space

by Quincy JonesQuincy Jones


$16.66 $17.99 Save 7% Current price is $16.66, Original price is $17.99. You Save 7%.


The protean Quincy Jones returned to the recording studio as a leader after a long stretch in Hollywood with this triumphantly contemporary big band album. He re-established himself firmly with his big band jazz base while casting a keen eye on the pop scene and the world of electric instruments (even Ray Brown is caught playing superb electric bass here). The diplomat also unveils his uncanny ability to attract some of the biggest names in jazz as sidemen (Freddie Hubbard, Roland Kirk, Hubert Laws, J.J. Johnson, Kai Winding, etc.), a quality that will be put to use again and again in the following decades. For jazz buffs, the long, dramatic title track from the then-raging musical Hair is the highlight; Hubbard positively sizzles on muted trumpet, and the brash Kirk blasts through the grooving rhythm section under heavy reverb. You also get Jones' classic, swaggering arrangement of Benny Golson's "Killer Joe" -- practically the definitive version -- and a rendition of Edwin Hawkins' freak hit "Oh Happy Day" that bursts with wit and sheer joy. This is one of the great peaks of Creed Taylor's A&M period, and it still sounds spectacular today.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/18/2000
Label: Polygram Records
UPC: 0731454349925
catalogNumber: 543499

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Quincy Jones   Primary Artist,Trumpet,Conductor,Vocals
Jimmy Cleveland   Trombone
Bob James   Piano,Keyboards,Electric Piano
Rahsaan Roland Kirk   Tenor Saxophone,Woodwind
Hubert Laws   Flute,Tenor Saxophone,Woodwind
Jerome Richardson   Soprano Saxophone,Woodwind
Marvin Stamm   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Chuck Rainey   Bass,Electric Bass
Grady Tate   Drums
Ray Brown   Bass,Electric Bass
John Frosk   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Eric Gale   Guitar
Paul Griffin   Piano,Electric Piano
Hilda Harris   Vocals
Freddie Hubbard   Trumpet
Marilyn Jackson   Vocals
George Jeffers   Trombone
J.J. Johnson   Trombone
Joel Kaye   Flute,Reeds,Saxophone,Woodwind
Jesse Kirkland   Vocals
Lloyd Michels   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Norman Pride   Trombone
Bernard "Pretty" Purdie   Drums
Alan Raph   Trombone
Valerie Simpson   Vocals
Maretha Stewart   Vocals
Tony Studd   Trombone
Toots Thielemans   Guitar,Harmonica
Kai Winding   Trombone
Snooky Young   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Eric Glae   Guitar
Dick Williams   Trumpet,Flugelhorn

Technical Credits

Bob James   Arranger
Quincy Jones   Arranger,Producer
Galt MacDermot   Composer
Morgan Ames   Liner Notes
Rudy Van Gelder   Engineer
Creed Taylor   Producer
Zan Stewart   Liner Notes
James Rado   Composer
Gerome Ragni   Composer
Hollis King   Art Direction
Tom Greenwood   Research Coordination
Carlos Kase   Research Coordination
Jamie Krents   Producer
Traditional   Composer
John Wriggle   Producer
Pete Turner   Cover Photo
E. F. Rimbault   Composer

Customer Reviews