We Get a Kick Out of Jazz [B&N Exclusive Version]

We Get a Kick Out of Jazz [B&N Exclusive Version]

CD(Exclusive Bonus Track)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


By the end of the last century, a dirty little secret started to seep out: Rock and pop performers also enjoyed jazz. Today, it comes as little shock when both aging and -- in the case of emerging new artists like Jamie Cullum -- younger popsters record jazz-inspired projects. We Get a Kick Out of Jazz collects prize performances from the rich Verve Records catalog. (While A-listers Diana Krall, Van Morrison, Aaron Neville, Linda Ronstadt, and Cullum all record for the label, Sting, Joni Mitchell, James Taylor, and Tom Waits are represented as guests on various instrumentalists' albums.) Handling such chestnuts as "How Long Has This Been Going On," "The Man I Love," and "I Fall In Love Too Easily," as well as the occasional contemporary selection -- Lizz Wright with James Taylor's "Don't Let Me Be Lonely Tonight," Krall's sassy take on Tom Waits's "The Heart of Saturday Night" (a Barnes & Noble exclusive track) -- the pop artists all exhibit comfort with the material and high style. Surrounded by noted jazz musicians including Herbie Hancock, David Sanborn, Roy Hargrove, and John Scofield, among many others, the vocalists rise to the occasion, each valuing the chance to bite into a quality song.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/27/2005
Label: Barnes Noble Consign
UPC: 0602498267424
catalogNumber: 82674

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Georgie Fame   Hammond Organ
Joni Mitchell   Vocals
Aaron Neville   Vocals
Linda Ronstadt   Vocals
Tom Waits   Guitar,Vocals
Michael Brecker   Tenor Saxophone
Alan Broadbent   Piano
Terri Lyne Carrington   Drums
Tommy Flanagan   Piano
Larry Goldings   Organ,Electric Piano
Jeff Hamilton   Drums
Herbie Hancock   Piano
Roy Hargrove   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Dave Holland   Bass
Pat Metheny   Guitar
Rob Mounsey   Piano
David Sanborn   Alto Saxophone
John Scofield   Electric Guitar
Wayne Shorter   Tenor Saxophone
Alan Skidmore   Saxophone
Grady Tate   Drums
Russell Malone   Guitar
Lewis Nash   Drums
Guy Barker   Trumpet
John Clayton   Bass
Ira Coleman   Bass
Alec Dankworth   Bass
Teddy Edwards   Tenor Saxophone
Steve Gadd   Drums
Charlie Haden   Bass
Mike Haynes   Fluer Gemanat
Conrad Herwig   Trombone
Art Hillery   Piano
Mike Mainieri   Vibes
Bob Mann   Guitar
Christian McBride   Bass
Van Morrison   Vocals
Ralph Salmins   Drums
Leroy Vinnegar   Bass
Diana Krall   Piano,Vocals
Anthony Wilson   Guitar
Luis Quintero   Percussion
Robin Aspland   Piano
Geoff Gascoyne   Acoustic Bass
Stefon Harris   Vibes
Lizz Wright   Vocals
Jamie Cullum   Piano,Vocals

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Hoagy Carmichael   Composer
Georgie Fame   Producer
James Taylor   Composer
Tom Waits   Composer
Pat Metheny   Producer
Rob Mounsey   Producer
Oscar Levant   Composer
John Boylan   Producer
Sammy Cahn   Composer
Teddy Edwards   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Edward Heyman   Composer
Stewart Levine   Producer
George Massenburg   Producer
Van Morrison   Producer
Cole Porter   Composer
Robert Sadin   Producer
Jule Styne   Composer
Ned Washington   Composer
Ron Goldstein   Executive Producer
Hollis King   Art Direction
Dahlia Ambach Caplin   Sequencers

Customer Reviews