We're All Alright! [Deluxe Edition]

We're All Alright! [Deluxe Edition]

by Cheap TrickCheap Trick

CD(Special Edition)

$16.94 $17.99 Save 6% Current price is $16.94, Original price is $17.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Back in Cheap Trick's late-'70s through mid-'80s heyday, it was standing operating procedure for a working band to crank out an album roughly once a year. Things are a good bit different in the 21st century, but Cheap Trick haven't lost the ability to deliver on a tight schedule. A mere 13 months after Rockford, Illinois' favorite sons dropped their first album for Nashville powerhouse Big Machine Records, 2016's Bang, Zoom, Crazy... Hello, they've knocked out a follow-up, We're All Alright!, and it manages to best the previous long-player for sheer rock action and sense of fun. Like Bang, Zoom, Crazy... Hello, We're All Alright! is a different animal than the band's best work; this dials back on their Beatles-influenced power pop moves, and puts the focus on the band's hard rock action (which has gotten harder since Daxx Nielsen replaced Bun E. Carlos behind the drum kit). And with producer Julian Raymond (who was also behind the controls for Bang, Zoom) on hand, the playful eccentricity that's always marked Cheap Trick's best music doesn't get as much of a hearing. But while this isn't a purist's Cheap Trick album, it's a lot of fun in spite of that. The bandmembers sound like they're having a blast on these sessions, with Rick Nielsen's guitar roaring at every turn, bassist Tom Petersson and drummer Nielsen holding down the backbeat like they're joined at the hip, and vocalist Robin Zander sounding playfully horny on numbers like "Listen to Me," "Nowhere," "Long Time Coming," and "You Got It Going On." If Bang, Zoom sounded like it was carefully worked over to prove the veteran band could still cut the mustard, We're All Alright! feels like the band rolled in and knocked this out with plenty of sweat and little fuss. Though the skillful harmonies and turn-on-a-time performances are a long way from sloppy, this is lively in a way that documents a truly great rock band in its element, and it's been some time since Cheap Trick have made a record that was as howling-along enjoyable as this one. If you're looking for a great hard rock album for the summer of 2017, don't look now, but Cheap Trick have delivered the fast 'n' loud blast that you need. [We're All Alright! was also released in a Deluxe Edition featuring three bonus tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 06/16/2017
Label: Big Machine Records
UPC: 0843930030439
catalogNumber: 250
Rank: 160906

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Cheap Trick   Primary Artist
Robin Zander   Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Rick Nielsen   Guitar,Background Vocals
Julian Raymond   Background Vocals
Tom Petersson   Bass,Background Vocals
Tim Lauer   Keyboards
Zac Rae   Keyboards
Daxx Nielsen   Drums
Lilah Petersson   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Cheap Trick   Producer
Roy Wood   Composer
Robin Zander   Composer
Todd Cerney   Composer
Rick Nielsen   Composer
Julian Raymond   Composer,Producer
Howard Willing   Engineer
Lars Fox   Pro-Tools
Tom Petersson   Composer
Scott Borchetta   Executive Producer
Becky Reiser   Graphic Design,Art Direction
Daxx Nielsen   Composer
Sandi Spika Borchetta   Art Direction
Adam Chagnon   Engineer

Customer Reviews