West Side Strut

West Side Strut

by Eddy ClearwaterEddy Clearwater


$18.64 $18.99 Save 2% Current price is $18.64, Original price is $18.99. You Save 2%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Chief Eddy Clearwater's West Side Strut is his first release for the Alligator label, and while nothing here is a surprise, Clearwater's Chicago blues/Chuck Berry hybrid remains evident as he works his way through a mix of rock & roll, country, soul, and gospel. Along with Clearwater is a stellar group of fellow Windy City musicians led by second guitarist (and producer) Ronnie Baker Brooks and his band, a horn section, and appearances by Billy Branch on harp, guitarist Lonnie Brooks, and backup vocals by Otis Clay and Jimmy Johnson. Spirited cover versions of Muddy Waters' "Walking Through the Park" and Lowell Fulson's "Trouble, Trouble" are highlights, as are the gutbucket blues "A Good Leavin' Alone," "Blue Over You," and the autobiographical "They Call Me the Chief." West Side Strut is another solid effort for the Chief and Alligator, as well.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/04/2008
Label: Alligator Records
UPC: 0014551492122
catalogNumber: 4921
Rank: 110785

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Eddy Clearwater   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Billy Branch   Harmonica,Guest Appearance
Lonnie Brooks   Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Guest Appearance
Otis Clay   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Steven Herrman   Trumpet
Jackie Johnson   Vocals,Voices
Jimmy Johnson   Vocals
Dennis Taylor   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Maurice Taylor   Drums,cowbell
Ernest Williamson   Clarinet,Vocals,Voices
Ronnie Baker Brooks   Acoustic Guitar,Percussion,Bass Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Daryl Coutts   Organ,Piano
Vicki Loveland   Vocals,Voices
Valencia Robinson   Vocals,Voices
Stacey Hall   Vocals,Voices
Maurice Boyce   Vocals
Jean Christopher Leroy   Percussion
Jimmy Johnson   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Marion Boyce   Vocals
Stacey Hall   Vocals
Jean-Christopher Leroy   Percussion
Carlton Armstrong   Bass Guitar
Maurice "Moe" Taylor   Drums,cowbell

Technical Credits

Eddy Clearwater   Composer,Executive Producer,Author
Lowell Fulson   Composer
Richard Fleming   Composer
Steven Herrman   Horn Arrangements
Niko Lyras   Engineer
McKinley Morganfield   Composer
Ronnie Baker Brooks   Composer,Producer,Author,Audio Production
Rick Barnes   Engineer
Michael Trossman   Logo
Michael Holmes   Engineer
Jeff Johnson   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews