When Giants Walked the Earth 10th Anniversary Edition: A Biography of Led Zeppelin

When Giants Walked the Earth 10th Anniversary Edition: A Biography of Led Zeppelin

by Mick Wall

Paperback(10th Anniversary Edition)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


A revised edition of the classic Led Zeppelin biography, featuring rich and substantial new material

Rock writer Mick Wall draws on insider access, as former confidante to both Plant and Page, to craft the definitive biography of the world's most legendary rock band—Led Zeppelin. In When Giants Walked the Earth, Wall audaciously tells the story of the band known not just as one of the biggest-selling bands of all-time, but also as the one that set the mark for on-the-road excess.

Detailed and revealing, When Giants Walked the Earth bores into not only the disaster, addiction and death that haunted the band but also into the real relationship between Page and Plant, including how it was influenced by Page's interest in the occult. Comprehensive and yet intimately detailed, When Giants Walked the Earth literally gets into the principals' heads to bring to life both an unforgettable band and an unrepeatable slice of rock history.

This edition includes approximately 35,000 words of new material about the band and the last decade, featuring fresh interviews and newly unearthed content.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250215604
Publisher: St. Martin''s Publishing Group
Publication date: 07/16/2019
Edition description: 10th Anniversary Edition
Pages: 608
Sales rank: 123,946
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.70(d)

About the Author

MICK WALL writes for Guitar World, Classic Rock and several other newspapers and magazines around the world. He has also worked in music public relations, handling Dire Straits, Black Sabbath, The Band and Journey, among others. His books include best-selling biographies of Pearl Jam, Iron Maiden, Bono and the legendary British DJ John Peel as well as 1992's Guns N' Roses: The Most Dangerous Band in the World, Enter Night: A Biography of Metallica, and Prince: Purple Rain.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgements xi

Author's Note xiii

Prologue - Heaven 1

Part 1 Ascension! 3

1 The Dawn of Now 5

2 Daze of My Youth 42

3 Light and Shade 66

4 Going To California 89

5 High in the Sky 114

6 Cannons! 138

7 Cracking the Whip 164

8 A Bustle in Your Hedgerow 192

Part 2 The Curse of King Midas 219

9 So Mote It Be 221

10 All That Glitters 249

11 We Are Your Overlords 281

12 The Golden Gods 319

13 The Devil in His Hole 353

14 Caesar's Chariot 383

15 The Outhouse 411

16 To Be A Rock 445

17 Gone, Gone, Gone 518

Epilogue - Fifty Years Later 536

Notes and Sources 552

Index 561

Customer Reviews