When She Makes More: 10 Rules for Breadwinning Women

When She Makes More: 10 Rules for Breadwinning Women

by Farnoosh Torabi

Hardcover

$23.36 $25.95 Save 10% Current price is $23.36, Original price is $25.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Overview

How to thrive in a relationship when you’re the richer half

For the top-earning woman, the rules are different. She faces a much higher risk for burnout, infidelity, and divorce. In this highly practical book, financial guru and media star Farnoosh Torabi—a breadwinner herself—presents a bold strategy that not only addresses how income imbalances affect relationships and family dynamics, but also how a woman can best manage (and take advantage of) this unique circumstance—emotionally, socially, and financially.

Among the rules:
• Rewrite the Fairy Tale: Come to grips with the new landscape for dating, marriage, and ever after.
• Find Your Favorite Position: Stay on top of the finances while allowing your partner to lead.
• Don’t Settle for a Mr. Mom: The math may conclude it’s best for him to quit his job to become the primary caregiver, but there's far more to consider.
• Don’t Make His Life Too Easy: How outsourcing and paying for help can backfire.

With eye-opening stories and a survey of one thousand people, this book will appeal to fans of The End of Men and The Richer Sex. Torabi helps us embrace this new reality and make it work.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781594632167
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 05/01/2014
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 1,250,304
Product dimensions: 6.30(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.40(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Farnoosh Torabi is a personal finance expert, speaker and TV personality. Her work and advice has been featured in The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Entrepreneur, Time and Money magazines. Her television credits include The Today Show, ABC, CNN, Live! With Kelly and Michael, Dr .Oz and The View. She hosted the Webby-nominated show Financially Fit on Yahoo!, the #1 personal finance series on the web. She and her husband live in Brooklyn. Learn more about Farnoosh at Farnoosh.TV.

Read an Excerpt

This dramatic economic shift can lead to guilt, shame, and questions of identity for both sexes. Money is already a bone of contention for most people; when she makes more, however, the plot thickens.

Table of Contents

Introduction Money and Margaritas ix

Chapter 1 Rule #1: Face the Facts 1

Chapter 2 Rule #2: Rewrite the Fairy Tale 23

Chapter 3 Rule #3: Level the Financial Playing Field 55

Chapter 4 Rule #4: Hack the Hypotheticals 81

Chapter 5 Rule #5: Cater to the Male Brain 99

Chapter 6 Rule #6: Buy Yourself a Wife (and Other Tips to Avoid Domestic Drudgery) 119

Chapter 7 Rule #7: Break the Glass Ceiling but Carry a Shield 143

Chapter 8 Rule #8: Plan Parenthood… from Conception to College and Beyond 169

Chapter 9 Rule #9: Grow a Thicker Skin 203

Chapter 10 Rule #10: Remember to Breathe 215

Acknowledgments 227

Notes 231

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

“In When She Makes More, Farnoosh Torabi unmasks the challenges female breadwinners face and provides solid solutions for protecting your finances and your relationship.”
—Tory Johnson, Good Morning America contributor and New York Times #1 bestselling author of The Shift
 
“When She Makes More is an inspiring, optimistic book that equips today's female breadwinners with smart solutions for overcoming the personal and professional trip wires of our new economic reality.”
—Barbara Corcoran, author of Shark Tales and host of The Millionaire Broker with Barbara Corcoran on CNBC
                     
“I predict Farnoosh’s ground breaking book will save more relationships than couples counseling ever could.  Superbly researched, well-written, engagingly fun, I couldn’t put it down.  Every working woman, married or single, needs to read this empowering guide! I’m so grateful I did.”
—Barbara Stanny, author of Secrets of Six-Figure Women
 
When She Makes More is a book of liberation from old ideas about women in the workforce who want to have it all. Torabi’s intelligence, respect for research, and vibrant prose put the book in an elite class with the best self-help books from financial gurus and masters of psychological nonfiction.”
—Amanda Steinberg, founder of DailyWorth.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews