When the Sun Goes Down, Vol. 10: East Virginia Blues

When the Sun Goes Down, Vol. 10: East Virginia Blues


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This is the tenth volume in Bluebird Records' superb When the Sun Goes Down: The Secret History of Rock & Roll series. Drawing on the extensive Bluebird and Victor back catalog of vintage 1920s, 1930s, and 1940s 78s, this installment, subtitled East Virginia Blues, traces the roots of honky tonk through the Appalachians, where modal European song forms collided head on with the Africanized rhythms of the blues, creating the springboard for contemporary country and rock & roll. What keeps this collection from simply being an archival project is the careful and deliberate sequencing, which turns variety into a virtue and keeps the pace of things fresh and interesting. Highlights include an early version of "Will the Circle Be Unbroken" by the Monroe Brothers, Wade Mainer's "Down in the Willow," and the original version of the vicious murder ballad "Tom Dooley" by G.B. Grayson and Henry Whitter. The first two megahits of country are here, "The Prisoner's Song" and "The Wreck of the Old '97," by Vernon Dalhart, both of which turn on massive doses of deliberate melancholy. Dick Burnett's "Constant Sorrow" is here in an early version by the Hall Brothers, recorded a full decade before Ralph Stanley took a shot at it. The historical and musical roots that fed into the creation of modern folk, blues, country, and rock are all present, and like the other titles in this series, East Virginia Blues does an admirable job of showing that the contemporary music listened to nowadays didn't show up fully formed out of thin air.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/22/2004
Label: Rca
UPC: 0828766008524
catalogNumber: 60085
Rank: 127024

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Gene Autry   Guitar,Vocals
Jimmie Davis   Vocals
Roy Hall   Guitar,Vocals
Carson Robison   Guitar,Vocals,Train Whistle
Clyde Moody   Mandolin
Ernest Tubb   Guitar,Vocals
Ed "Snoozer" Quinn   Guitar
J.E. Mainer   Fiddle,Vocals
Roy Smeck   Hawaiian Guitar
Charlie Monroe   Guitar,Vocals
Riley Puckett   Guitar,Vocals
Vernon Dalhart   Harmonica,Vocals
Wade Mainer   Banjo,Guitar,Vocals
Mother Maybelle Carter   Guitar,Tenor (Vocal)
Cliff Carlisle   Vocals,Hawaiian Guitar
Billy Burkes   Guitar
Sarah Carter   Guitar,Vocals
Lou Raderman   Viola
Ervin T. Rouse   Fiddle,Vocals
Tommy Magness   Fiddle
Sam Freed   Fiddle
Bill Bolick   Mandolin,Vocals
Earl Bolick   Guitar,Vocals
Alton Delmore   Guitar,Vocals
Rabon Delmore   Guitar,Vocals
Steve Ledford   Fiddle
Frankie Marvin   Guitar
Zeke Morris   Banjo,Guitar,Vocals
Henry Whitter   Guitar,Vocals
Leon Chappelear   Guitar
Daddy John Love   Guitar,Vocals
Bill "Cousin Wilbur" Westbrooks   Bass

Technical Credits

Jimmie Davis   Composer
Jimmie Rodgers   Composer
Ernest Tubb   Composer
Cliff Carlisle   Composer
A.P. Carter   Composer
Colin Escott   Liner Notes,Reissue Producer
Barry Feldman   Reissue Producer
Ervin T. Rouse   Composer
Alton Delmore   Composer
Rabon Delmore   Composer
Leon Chappelear   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Gary Kelley   Cover Illustration

Customer Reviews