Where Grieving Begins: Building Bridges after the Brighton Bomb - A Memoir

Where Grieving Begins: Building Bridges after the Brighton Bomb - A Memoir


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


An enduring peace is only possible through a genuine understanding of the past. To understand the Troubles is to set them in the context of the historical root causes of the conflict, in order to grapple with its pain and its horrors; to grieve and then, perhaps, to heal.

Where Grieving Begins is the memoir of Patrick Magee, the man who planted the 1984 Brighton bomb – an attempt by the Provisional IRA to kill the British Prime Minister, Margaret Thatcher, and her cabinet. In an unflinching reckoning with the past, Magee recounts the influences and events of his life. He chronicles the profound experience of meeting Jo Berry – whose father was one of five people killed – and the extraordinary work they have done together.

A chasm of misunderstanding endures around the Troubles and the history of British rule in Ireland. This memoir builds a bridge to a common understanding. It is written in the belief that much is possible, even in the face of profound differences, when there is a genuine commitment to honesty, inclusion and dialogue.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780745341774
Publisher: Pluto Press
Publication date: 02/20/2021
Pages: 256
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Patrick Magee was released from prison in 1999 under the terms of the Good Friday Agreement. For 27 years, Patrick was a committed member of the Provisional IRA and remains a republican. He completed his PhD whilst in prison.

Jo Berry is the Founder of Building Bridges for Peace, a non-profit organisation dedicated to peace and conflict resolution around the globe. She is the daughter of the Hon. Sir Anthony Berry who was killed in the Brighton hotel bombing.

Table of Contents

1. Trace Memories
2. The Politics of Place
3. Unity Flats
4. Joining G Company
5. Capture and the Lazy K
6. Back to War
7. Burn Out
8. A Point of No Return
9. Nineteen Eighty-Four
10. Capture and Trial
11. Life x 8
12. Gate Fever
13. My God! Him Too?
14. Bridges Can Be Built
15. 'Facing the Enemy'
16. The F Word
17. The Field of Peace
18. Conclusions and Beginnings

Customer Reviews