Where Grieving Begins: Building Bridges after the Brighton Bomb - A Memoir

Where Grieving Begins: Building Bridges after the Brighton Bomb - A Memoir

by Patrick Magee

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.49 $10.00 Save 5% Current price is $9.49, Original price is $10. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


An enduring peace is only possible through a genuine understanding of the past. To understand the Troubles is to set them in the context of the historical root causes of the conflict, in order to grapple with its pain and its horrors; to grieve and then, perhaps, to heal.

This is the memoir of Patrick Magee, the man who planted the 1984 Brighton bomb – an attempt by the Provisional IRA to kill the British Prime Minister, Margaret Thatcher, and her cabinet. In an unflinching reckoning with the past, Magee recounts the events of his life. He chronicles the profound experience of meeting Jo Berry – whose father was one of five people killed in the bombing – and the extraordinary work they have done together.

A chasm of misunderstanding endures around the Troubles and the history of British rule in Ireland. This memoir builds a bridge to a common understanding. It is written in the belief that anything is possible when there is honesty, inclusion and dialogue.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781786806871
Publisher: Pluto Press
Publication date: 02/20/2021
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 31 MB
Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.

About the Author

Patrick Magee was released from prison in 1999 under the terms of the Good Friday Agreement. For 27 years, Patrick was a committed member of the IRA and remains a republican. He completed his PhD while in prison.

Patrick Magee was a committed member of the IRA for 27 years, fighting against British rule of Ireland under partition. He was responsible for planting the ‘Brighton Bomb’ in 1984. Since his release from prison after the Good Friday Agreement, he has worked towards building a common understanding of the past. He completed his PhD whilst in prison, and is the author of Gangsters or Guerrillas? Representations of Irish Republicans in Troubles Fiction (Beyond the Pale Publications, 2001). He remains a republican.

Table of Contents

Foreword by Jo Berry
1. Trace Memories
2. The Politics of Place
3. Unity Flats
4. Joining G Company
5. Capture and the Lazy K
6. Back to War
7. Burn Out
8. A Point of No Return
9. Nineteen Eighty-Four
10. Capture and Trial
11. Life x 8
12. Gate Fever
13. My God! Him Too?
14. Bridges Can Be Built
15. 'Facing the Enemy'
16. The F Word
17. The Field of Peace
18. Conclusions and Beginnings

Customer Reviews