Wild Ones

Wild Ones

by Kip MooreKip Moore


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Kip Moore scored three big bro country hits in the two years surrounding 2012 '- "Somethin' 'Bout a Truck" was the 2011 breakthrough, followed by "Beer Money" in 2012 and "Hey Pretty Girl" in 2013 -- but he struggled on the journey to his second album, delivering two singles that, in his words, "stiffed," leading him to scrap an entire LP and write a new record, presumably one that's more commercial. Wild Ones, delivered three years after Up All Night, is that official second record and, as the neon-speckled album cover indicates, it's an album indebted to the '80s and not the hybrid of Hall & Oates and Paul Young suggested by the art, either. Moore plays up his middle-America bona fides, eager to conjure some of the spirit of fellow Springsteen fan Eric Church, but where Church prefers beefy guitars, Moore favors open-road anthems, songs that feel masculine but retain a vulnerable core. Such an emphasis on ballads and deliberate midtempo rockers gives Wild Ones a soft, even hazy touch when compared to the glossy snap of Up All Night, a shift that neatly punctures whatever lingering bro country affections remain in Moore's music. Instead of living for tomorrow's parties, he's rhapsodizing about good times once had in a style that funnels prime Bon Jovi through John Mellencamp. If Kip's songs aren't as hook-heavy or as sticky as his idols, it is nevertheless admirable that he's completely revamped his sound so he doesn't feel like anybody else in contemporary country -- not his bro country peers, not Church, not a red dirt refugee or macho rocker. He's effectively evoked the feel and aesthetic of mid-'80s heartland rock, and if that doesn't necessarily make him a wild one, it does make him a rebel of sorts.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/21/2015
Label: Mca Nashville
UPC: 0602537688852
catalogNumber: 001994102
Rank: 32362

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Kip Moore   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Mike Brignardello   Bass
Jimmie Lee Sloas   Bass
Brett James   Background Vocals
Tim Lauer   Keyboards
Lee Hendricks   Bass
Tom Bukovac   Guitar
Scotty Sanders   Lap Steel Guitar
Chris DeStefano   Bass,Guitar,Mandolin,Piano,Drums,Background Vocals,6-string Banjo
Rob McNelley   Guitar
Jeff Hyde   Banjo
Ilya Toshinskiy   Guitar
Dave Cohen   Keyboards
Matthew Bubel   Drums

Technical Credits

Nick Brophy   Engineer
Brett James   Composer,Producer
Blair Daly   Composer
David Frasier   Composer
Luke Dick   Composer
Chris DeStefano   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Troy Verges   Composer
Ross Copperman   Composer
Manny Medina   Composer
Rodney Clawson   Composer
Justin Weaver   Composer,Programming
Jeff Hyde   Composer
Dan Couch   Composer
Kip Moore   Composer,Producer,Art Direction
Westin Davis   Composer
Erich Wigdahl   Composer
Adam Browder   Composer
Erik Dylan   Composer

Customer Reviews