by LuciusLucius


$14.23 $15.99 Save 11% Current price is $14.23, Original price is $15.99. You Save 11%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Wildewoman, the Mom + Pop-issued debut long-player from stylish Brooklyn-based indie pop outfit Lucius, is a strange beast. On the one hand, it's an evocative, sepia-toned torch ballad of a record that invokes names like Neko Case and Phil Spector, and on the other, it flirts with propulsive, Santigold-kissed R&B and dense, '80s-fueled, Killers-esque melodrama. As polarizing as the sudden shifts in style can be, it's hard not to get caught up in the luster of it all, as co-frontwomen and Berklee College of Music voice majors Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig are both formidable sirens who can croon, coo, comfort, and howl with the best of them, and when paired with the lush chamber/electro-pop production and meticulously detailed playing from drummer Danny Molad and guitarists Peter Lalish and Andrew Burri, the results can be dizzying. Wildewoman is at its best when all of the group's proclivities are tossed into the pot, re-seasoned, and simmered until done, and songs like the propulsive "Turn It Around," the lush title cut, and the roaring "Tempest" navigate the spaces between those predilections with great aplomb, creating a surprisingly listenable hybrid of country, new wave, AOR pop, and NPR-baiting indie rock in their wake. When the group shimmies back down to O Brother, Where Art Thou? territory, like on the bluesy "Go Home," the Lumineers-inspired "Two of Us on the Run," and, to a lesser extent, the atmospheric and vaudevillian "Monsters," Wildewoman can feel a little rote, but to its credit, never dull, due in large part to Wolfe and Laessig's commanding performances.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/15/2013
Label: Mom & Pop Music
UPC: 0858275012927
catalogNumber: 120
Rank: 9537

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lucius   Primary Artist
Chris Morrissey   Bass
Pete Lalish   Group Member
Blake Mills   Electric Guitar
Dan Molad   Group Member
Eric Robertson   Guitar (Tenor)
Jessica Martins   Background Vocals
Adam Christgau   Percussion
Alan Hampton   Electric Bass
Rich Hinman   Electric Guitar
Sydney Price   Background Vocals
Holly Laessig   Group Member
Heather Robb   Background Vocals
Jess Wolfe   Group Member
Michaela Anne   Background Vocals
Leital Molad   Background Vocals
Gabriel Duncan   Guitar,Vocals
Andrew Burri   Group Member
Shelley Molad   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Tony Berg   Additional Production
Lucius   Producer,Engineer
Dan Molad   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Shawn Everett   Engineer
Steve Wall   Engineer,Additional Production
Jacob Goldman   Engineer
Holly Laessig   Composer
Jess Wolfe   Composer
Evelyne Axell   Cover Art
Sarah Avrin   Publicity
Peter Larson   Band Photo

Customer Reviews