Worship & Faith

Worship & Faith

by Randy TravisRandy Travis


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


His recent "inspirational journey" has created an unexpected career renaissance for Randy Travis, and for his latest faith-based foray, he turns his burnished baritone toward classic church hymns. This choice may have given Travis fans some pause -- his previous Christian albums focused on original gems such as "Three Wooden Crosses" and "The Carpenter" -- but no fear, Travis is a song stylist to his core, breathing new life into this familiar fare. Give credit to longtime producer Kyle Lehning, who deftly countrifies these hymns, allowing Travis's vocals to fully express their message. Thus "Just a Closer Walk with Thee" and "He's My Rock, My Sword, My Shield" become country shuffles, "Peace in the Valley" is a delicately uplifting ballad, "Sweet By and By" becomes a bluegrass hymn. Travis is less convincing on the album's worship standards -- "You Are Worthy of My Praise," "Open the Eyes of My Heart," and "Above All" are too lyrically bland and repetitive to fit his vocal style. Thankfully, with 20 tracks, Worship & Faith has more hits than misses. Special guests John Anderson, Joy Lynn White, and Mac Powell of Third Day round out the surprises offered here.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/11/2003
Label: Word Entertainment
UPC: 0080688627324
catalogNumber: 886273
Rank: 9790

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Randy Travis   Primary Artist
Jerry Douglas   Dobro
John Anderson   Vocals
Eric Darken   Percussion,Hand Clapping
Chip Davis   Background Vocals
David Angell   Violin
Dennis Crouch   Acoustic Bass
David Davidson   Violin
Larry Franklin   Fiddle
Paul Franklin   Dobro
Anthony LaMarchina   Cello
Liana Manis   Background Vocals
Brent Mason   Acoustic Guitar,Gut String Guitar,Soloist
John Mock   Concertina,Bodhran,tin whistle
Joy Lynn White   Background Vocals
Kristin Wilkinson   Viola
Tony Harrel   Accordion,Harmonium
Mark Lusk   Acoustic Guitar
Craig Duncan and the Smoky Mountain Band   Hammered Dulcimer
Kirk "Jelly Roll" Johnson   Harmonica
Bryan Sutton   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Mandolin
Mac Powell   Vocals,Background Vocals
Wes Hightower   Background Vocals
Larry Beaird   Acoustic Guitar
Shannon Sanders   Tenor (Vocal)
Jason Eskridge   Tenor (Vocal)
Nirva Dorsaint   Soprano (Vocal)
Casey Wood   Hand Clapping
Typharee Fitzgerald   Alto (Vocal)
Craig Watkins   Tenor (Vocal)
Krystle Ochsner   Soprano (Vocal)
Billy Davis   Background Vocals
Cynthia Matthews   Alto (Vocal)
Paige Lackey Martin   Soprano (Vocal)
Christina Ketterling   Background Vocals
Sharese "Reecy" Jackson   Alto (Vocal)
Pastor Matthew Hagee   Background Vocals
Sandra Hagee   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Randy Travis   Arranger,Liner Notes
Howard Smith   Composer
Paul Baloche   Composer
Don Hart   String Arrangements
Lenny LeBlanc   Composer
Kyle Lehning   Producer,Engineer
Rev. Thomas A. Dorsey   Composer
Jason Lehning   overdub engineer,Vocal Engineer
Mark Lusk   Artist Development
Albert E. Brumley   Composer
Ira F. Stanphill   Composer
Fanny Crosby   Composer
David Ruis   Composer
Joseph Philbrick Webster   Composer
Shannon Sanders   Choir Arrangement
Elizabeth Travis   Creative Coordinator
Traditional   Composer
Sanford Fillmore Bennett   Composer
Chris Tomlin   Composer
Stuart K. Hine   Composer
James Rowe   Composer
Casey Wood   Engineer,overdub engineer
Ron Lowry   Composer
J.R. Baxter   Composer
C. Austin Miles   Composer
Michael Chavez   Engineer
Mark Harrier   Vocal Engineer
Jordan Lehning   overdub engineer
Will L. Thompson   Composer
Charles H. Gabriel   Composer

Customer Reviews