by Fairport ConventionFairport Convention


$17.38 $17.99 Save 3% Current price is $17.38, Original price is $17.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Neither fish nor foul, Fairport Convention holds a position somewhere between traditional English and contemporary Celtic music. Although mostly acoustic, electric bass and piano make appearances, and while the bandmembers enjoy the folk songs of yesteryear, they also pen new material. The band's approach and style also separate them from the folk-rock of the Richard Thompson/Sandy Denny era, which rocked quite a bit harder. XXXV celebrates the band's long history by dipping into a few old favorites like "I Wandered by a Brookside" and "The Deserter." The group plays as a collective unit, offering a nice blend of mandolin, fiddle, and guitar along with energetic percussion. There's a relaxed version of "The Banks of the Sweet Primroses" and a stately take on Thompson and Dave Swarbrick's "Now Be Thankful." Anna Ryder's vocals add a nice touch to "The Crowd," and Ian Anderson offers some fancy flute work on "Portmeirion." Interestingly, this latter instrumental reminds one of other "new acoustic" compositions by outfits like New Grange, another band on the Compass label. While all of the selections are performed competently and professionally, a certain sameness seeps into the proceedings halfway through the album. It's as though the music has become too safe, too predictable. Fans of Fairport's recent albums, however, will enjoy sitting down with a pint of their favorite beverage and taking a long look back at the band's illustrious history.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/12/2002
Label: Compass Records
UPC: 0766397433226
catalogNumber: 974332
Rank: 186037

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Fairport Convention   Primary Artist
Ian Anderson   Flute
Simon Nicol   Guitar,Vocals
Dave Pegg   Bass Guitar,Vocals
Gerry Conway   Percussion,Drums
Chris Leslie   Mandolin,Violin,Vocals,Tenor Banjo,Electronic Mandolin
Mark Tucker   Electric Guitar,E-bow
Julie Matthews   Vocals
Chris While   Vocals
Ric Sanders   Violin,Electric Piano,Baritone Violin
Anna Ryder   Piano,Accordion,French Horn,Vocals,Penny Whistle
Cropredy Crowd   Hand Clapping
Chris Knibbs   Trombone
Chas McDevitt   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Fairport Convention   Arranger
Simon Nicol   Arranger
Dave Pegg   Producer
Gerry Conway   Arranger
Chris Leslie   Arranger,Composer
John Richards   Composer
Mark Tucker   Producer,Engineer
Ric Sanders   Arranger
Anna Ryder   Composer
Mick Toole   Cover Photo
Traditional   Composer
Nigel Stonier   Composer

Customer Reviews