by Bobby Gordon


$10.44 $10.99 Save 5% Current price is $10.44, Original price is $10.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 12


There's something to be said for gently swinging, decorous, small-ensemble jazz. Quite a lot to be said, actually -- in a marketplace dominated by overbearing, thousand-notes-a-minute show-offs. Artists who can make their musical statements concisely, and without bombast, are to be treasured. Of course, there's also something to be said for energy, and if there's one thing occasionally lacking on this genuinely lovely album, that's what it is. Supported by an ace rhythm section consisting of pianist John Sheridan, bassist Dave Stone, and drummer Tony DeNicola, clarinetists Bobby Gordon and Bob Wilber (who switches to soprano sax occasionally), deliver this beautiful program of standards and originals with all the panache and grace you could ask for, if not always all of the oomph you might want. On elegant numbers like the Irving Berlin composition "A Pretty Girl Is Like a Melody," and the regretful "I Ain't Got Nobody," they weave their melodic variations like fine lace around the sturdy backing of the rhythm section, and even on such hackneyed material as "Doodle Doo Doo," they manage to shed new light on the material with their graceful duo improvisations. They're not going to change the way you listen to old-school jazz, but then, they're not trying to. Recommended.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/07/2003
Label: Arbors Records
UPC: 0780941127720
catalogNumber: 19277
Rank: 83216

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bobby Gordon   Primary Artist,Clarinet
Bob Wilber   Clarinet,Soprano Saxophone
John Sheridan   Piano
David R. Stone   Bass
Tony DeNicola   Drums

Technical Credits

Irving Berlin   Composer
Bob Wilber   Composer
Art Kassel   Composer
Ned Miller   Composer
Dorothy Parker   Composer
Chester Cohn   Composer
Roger Graham   Composer
Isham Jones   Composer
Gus Kahn   Composer
Benny Krueger   Composer
Jule Styne   Composer
Spencer Williams   Composer
Jack King   Composer
Sam M. Lewis   Composer
Charlie LaVere   Composer
Joe Young   Composer
Mat Domber   Producer
Rachel Domber   Producer
Mabel Wayne   Composer
Bryan Shaw   Engineer
Dave Hyman   Cover Design
Keith Samuel   Liner Notes
Dave Peyton   Composer
Charles E. King   Composer
Rachel & Mat Domber   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews