Yerba Buena Bounce

Yerba Buena Bounce

by The Hot Club of San FranciscoThe Hot Club of San Francisco


$18.30 $18.99 Save 4% Current price is $18.3, Original price is $18.99. You Save 4%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Hot Club of San Francisco is more than a tribute band re-creating the recordings of Django Reinhardt, Stéphane Grappelli and the Quintette du Hot Club de France; the group covers pieces from many different eras never performed by the group which inspired them. On their tenth CD, Yerba Buena Bounce, the Hot Club of San Francisco, which has identical instrumentation to the French group (lead guitar, violin, two rhythm guitars and a bass), leader Paul Mehling, violinist Evan Price and the rhythm section swing like mad in their updated treatment of the QHCF's speeding locomotive represented by "Mystery Pacific" and the brisk, chugging "Black and White." But they also successfully convert modern pop songs into gypsy swing material, such as the Beatles' ballad "I'm Happy Just to Dance with You" (adding Seth Asarnow on bandoneon) and Norman Gimbel's "Sway" (which adds mandolin master David Grisman). Mehling proves himself as a composer as well, contributing the upbeat "Number Two" and the tender "Lullaby" (the latter adding both Asarnow and Grisman). If that's not enough, Mehling adds campy vocals to "Gong Oh" and "Some of These Days." Fans of Django Reinhardt and Stéphane Grappelli owe it to themselves to investigate these swinging, beautifully recorded sessions by the Hot Club of San Francisco; gypsy swing is very much alive in their hands!

Product Details

Release Date: 03/13/2007
Label: Reference Recordings
UPC: 0030911110925
catalogNumber: 109
Rank: 89669

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Hot Club of San Francisco   Primary Artist
David Grisman   Mandolin
Paul Mehling   Guitar
Evan Price   Violin
Jeff Magidson   Guitar
Jason Vanderford   Guitar

Technical Credits

Hoagy Carmichael   Composer
John Lennon   Composer
Paul McCartney   Composer
Henry Busse   Composer
Django Reinhardt   Composer
Lester Young   Composer
Sidney Bechet   Composer
Walter Donaldson   Composer
Norman Gimbel   Composer
J. Tamblyn Henderson   Producer,Executive Producer,Audio Production
Paul Mehling   Composer,Audio Production
Mitchell Parish   Composer
Paolo Conte   Composer
Keith O. Johnson   Engineer,Liner Notes

Customer Reviews