Yoko Ono/Plastic Ono Band [CD]

Yoko Ono/Plastic Ono Band [CD]

by Plastic Ono BandPlastic Ono Band


$16.59 $16.99 Save 2% Current price is $16.59, Original price is $16.99. You Save 2%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Recorded concurrently with John Lennon's Plastic Ono Band album, Yoko's features the same musicians, namely John, Ringo Starr, and Klaus Voormann along with the Ornette Coleman Quartet on one cut. Unlike John's record, however, Yoko's is much more a "jam"-sounding record. And while there are definite songs, lyrics are mainly vocal improvisations. Still, if avant-garde is your cup of tea, then check this one out. It's good, if only to hear John Lennon really get the guitar cranking on the opening cut, "Why." The 1997 CD reissue adds three bonus cuts: a previously unreleased version of "Open Your Box" (which would be used as the flip side to John Lennon's "Power to the People" single), the previously unreleased, 16-minute improv piece "The South Wind," and a previously unreleased 44-second snippet of "Something More Abstract." [Yoko Ono/Plastic Ono Band was re-released on CD in 2016.]

Product Details

Release Date: 11/11/2016
Label: Secretly Canadian
UPC: 0656605028125
catalogNumber: 50281
Rank: 4636

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Plastic Ono Band   Primary Artist
John Lennon   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Group Member
Ringo Starr   Drums,Group Member
Yoko Ono   Vocals,Group Member
David Izenzon   Bass
Ed Blackwell   Drums
Ornette Coleman   Trumpet
Klaus Voormann   Bass,Group Member
Charles Haden   Bass

Technical Credits

John Lennon   Producer,Sleeve Design
Yoko Ono   Producer,Cover Photo,Sleeve Design
Ornette Coleman   Images
Andy Stevens   Engineer
Sean Lennon   Reissue Executive Producer
Chris Swanson   Reissue Executive Producer
David Newgarden   Reissue Executive Producer
Kevin Duneman   Producer
Karla Merrifield   Producer
Dan Richter   Cover Photo
Simon Hilton   Producer
Ben Swanson   Reissue Executive Producer
Daniel Murphy   Reissue Design
Phil Macdonald   Engineer
John Lickie   Engineer
Ed McEntee   Producer
Julio Cann   Producer
Darius Van Arman   Reissue Executive Producer
Sari Henry   Producer

Customer Reviews