You Are My Starship/Aquarian Dream [Bonus Tracks]

You Are My Starship/Aquarian Dream [Bonus Tracks]

by Norman ConnorsNorman Connors
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


One of several Norman Connors reissues from Funky Town Grooves released throughout 2013, this set combines the drummer and studio organizer's 1976 additions to the Buddah catalog: his own You Are My Starship, as well as the debut from Aquarian Dream, a group he produced with the assistance of familiar associates such as Reggie Lucas and Keith Loving. You Are My Starship features the title track, a quiet storm classic fronted by Michael Henderson. Phyllis Hyman contributes one of her career highlights on a cover of "Betcha by Golly Wow." The two vocalists also duet on another essential quiet storm number, "We Both Need Each Other." Aquarian Dream, largely a sophisticated disco set with occasional soloing, is uneven but has its moments.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/05/2019
Label: Funkytown Grooves
UPC: 0810736020216
catalogNumber: 12736224
Rank: 8763

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Norman Connors   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Leon Thomas   Composer
Onaje Allan Gumbs   Composer
Gloria Jones   Composer
Reggie Lucas   Composer
Thom Bell   Composer
Dwight Brewster   Composer
Jacques Burvick   Composer
Norman Connors   Composer
Linda Creed   Composer
Michael Henderson   Composer
Shunzo Ohno   Composer
Pharoah Sanders   Composer
Paul Williams   Composer
Kevin Nance   Composer
Alex Henderson   Liner Notes
Roger Nichols   Composer
Pete Bartee   Composer
Tony Calvert   Reissue Producer

Customer Reviews