You Can't Relive The Past

You Can't Relive The Past

by Eric AndersenEric Andersen


$15.30 $15.99 Save 4% Current price is $15.3, Original price is $15.99. You Save 4%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


His voice infused with a husky maturity, Eric Andersen begins this collection with a poignant example of his favored style, the ballad, on "Eyes of the Immigrant," aided by the thoughtful melodic guitar of Artie Traum. But while he's best known as a singing poet who earned his stripes in the coffeehouse and folk festival circuit beside Bob Dylan and Joni Mitchell, Anderson makes a revitalizing journey on this aptly titled effort. The title cut, cowritten with old friend Lou Reed, takes a turn toward funk with a driving rock edge. The dark vision of country troubadour Townes Van Zandt emerges with four songs resurrected from a long lost tape that Andersen and Van Zandt made 13 years ago, including "Meadowlark" and the country blues rocker "Night Train." Andersen carries the blues idea further in the eerie tale of past and future, "Pale Blue Moon," which was recorded in the Mississippi Delta with James "Super Chikan" Johnson and Sam Carr. All of these are strong indications that Eric Andersen doesn't need to relive the past. He's clearly using the lessons he learned there to explore new musical directions for his future.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/22/2000
Label: Appleseed Records
UPC: 0611587103222
catalogNumber: 1032
Rank: 189713

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Eric Andersen   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals
Artie Traum   spanish guitar,Steel String
Lou Reed   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Lucy Kaplansky   Vocal Harmony
Robert Aaron   Clarinet,Flute,Piano
Kenny Brown   Rhythm Guitar,Slide Guitar
Sam Carr   Snare Drums
Mark Dann   Bass
Daniel Hovey   Slide Guitar,Lap Steel Guitar
Ismael Bruno   Percussion
James "Super Chikan" Johnson   Electric Guitar,fender rhodes

Technical Credits

Eric Andersen   Producer,Liner Notes,Executive Producer
Steve Addabbo   Engineer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Steve Gaboury   Engineer
Anthony DeCurtis   Liner Notes
Noah Simon   Engineer
Jim Musselman   Executive Producer
Lonnie Heller   Cover Design
Bruce Watson   Engineer

Customer Reviews