Young Love

Young Love

by Mat KearneyMat Kearney


$9.47 $9.99 Save 5% Current price is $9.47, Original price is $9.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


Mat Kearney seems to describe the trajectory of his music career halfway through his third album when he croons, "From the moment that you popped out on the scene, hard to know what you got or [what] you're meant to be." The Nashville-based singer made a splash with 2006's Nothing Left to Lose, but didn't seem to grasp fully what he had at the time. After exploring the nuances of his sound on his next album, Young Love could be considered his arrival record, finding the right flavor of hip-hop, adult alternative, and classic storytelling. The formula works well for the Oregon-born songwriter, who again uses his raspy tenor to take melodies in directions you wouldn't necessarily expect. The album comes off much like the opening weeks of a relationship, where moments bounce between earnest and playful, heavy and light, but each ultimately memorable in its own way. There are sounds influenced by Bruno Mars' flirtatiousness ("She Got the Honey"), Jason Mraz's hip-hop fusion ("Ships in the Night"), and even Elvis Costello's retro-rock coolness ("Young Dumb and in Love"). And don't forget the children's voices on "Count on Me" that make you want to pick up a jump rope and join in a playground game of Double Dutch. Most of Young Love works like a soft summer soundtrack that sounds best when played in its entirety. The album hails Kearney's development as a songwriter as well as longtime producer Robert Marvin's depth of sonic effects. All in all, a noteworthy release that reveals more layers the longer you listen.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/02/2011
Label: Republic
UPC: 0602527767062
catalogNumber: 001581702

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mat Kearney   Primary Artist,Guitar,Percussion,Keyboards
Jerry McPherson   Guitar
Jason Lehning   Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Drums,Keyboards
Bryan Sutton   Guitar,Mandolin
Matt Mahaffey   Bass,Keyboards
Tyler Burkum   Guitar
Ian Fitchuk   Percussion,Drums,Keyboards
Tony Lucido   Bass
Jordan Lehning   Guitar,Percussion,Harp
Claire Indie   Cello
Dustin Sauder   Guitar
Joshua Crosby   Drums,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Robert Marvin   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Adam Keafer   Bass
Jason Goforth   Lap Steel Guitar
Ellie Mavin   Background Vocals
Alli Jacobs   Background Vocals
Morgan Jacobs   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Greg Latterman   Executive Producer,Management
Jason Lehning   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Andy Selby   Programming,Engineer
Matt Mahaffey   Composer,Programming,Engineer
Joe Spix   Art Direction
Jordan Lehning   Engineer
Mat Kearney   Composer,Programming,Engineer
Nate Campany   Composer
Jason Rio   Management
Gordon Hammond   Engineer
Joshua Crosby   Composer,Programming
Scott Clayton   Booking
Robert Marvin   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Josh Crosby   Programming,Engineer

Customer Reviews